Hoffman Hills

Hoffman Hills Tower

Tower at the top of Hoffman Hills State Recreation Area

I have never been to Hoffman Hills before but I was able to appreciate its unique beauty from the moment that I stepped out of that yellow bus. It was beautiful in a way that only nature can provide, beauty that is always changing. You will never see the exact same view because everyday something is different. Leaves change color, plants grow, and the world rotates; forever changing the way a beautiful view will look. Hoffman Hills provides anybody who takes the time a once in a lifetime experience. From the tower you can see for miles and every visit will open your eyes to the beauty of a changing world.
-Anna D.

My group and I went on an adventure to Hoffman Hills. We walked trails and climbed the Greg Schubert Memorial Tower. We had started climbing the tower after we had walked the “most difficult” section of the trail, and the stairs seemed to just keep going up, up and up. Each time we reached a level I thought to myself “Finally! The top!”, but it wasn’t truly the top until we reached it. The view from the top of the tower was amazing; the land seemed to go on for forever, just like the stairs. It was so wonderful and rewarding to finally be at the top! I thought about our futures and how they were similar to our adventure; we have to work for our view on the top and for success. Working hard for something that is worthwhile (like working hard for our futures or to the top of a tower) is a very rewarding experience.
-Meghan B.

My group and I went on an adventure to Hoffman Hills. We walked trails and climbed the Greg Schubert Memorial Tower. We had started climbing the tower after we had walked the “most difficult” section of the trail, and the stairs seemed to just keep going up, up and up. Each time we reached a level I thought to myself “Finally! The top!”, but it wasn’t truly the top until we reached it. The view from the top of the tower was amazing; the land seemed to go on for forever, just like the stairs. It was so wonderful and rewarding to finally be at the top! I thought about our futures and how they were similar to our adventure; we have to work for our view on the top and for success. Working hard for something that is worthwhile (like working hard for our futures or to the top of a tower) is a very rewarding experience.
-Erin C.

The City as Text trip to Hoffman Hill was a very memorable experience; it was a great way to get to know some of the other members of the Honors program and to see the hidden beauty of Menomonie. The walk to the tower was absolutely gorgeous; I took a lot of pictures along the way of the rolling landscape and natural beauty of the land. Along the way we found a small camp site with an old fashion water pump where we stopped to rest. We also walked to the tower which overlooks miles of woods and farm land. I am afraid of heights, but going to the top of that tower was very empowering. The view was amazing and something I will not forget.
-Megan B.

While I was up on top of the Greg Schubert Memorial Tower at Hoffman Hills, I was just thinking about moments in life. It was so peaceful up on top of the tower, dead quiet. Just to take it all in, exhale really slow and be in that moment. Seeing all the green hills and flat farms against the pure blue sky. It was nice to just stand back and reflect about that single moment passing by. To not constantly think about what’s happening next was a nice change of pace. The long climb up was worth it for that solitary moment.
-Jamie B.

In its entirety, I found this UHP meeting extremely beneficial. Not only was it informative on a historical and natural note, but it was an excellent workout as well! Hoffman Hills is a great place to hike and explore. On our nature walk up hill after hill, we were privileged enough to see and physically experience a hand-pumped water fountain, (which was EXTREMELY) beneficial in such hot weather. A few friends and I passed where the four townships come together as well! That’s something I’ve never seen before and in all honesty was pretty exciting to me personally. I’m glad to have gone on this field trip because if it wasn’t for that, I don’t think I would have experienced what I did today!
-Kaitlyn B.

Farmland surronds the Hoffmann Hills, it inhibits the natural beauty of the surronding area. Up on the observation deck, I thought about what the indians would see. Unrefined, natural beauty, maybe. I still saw beauty of farming and agriculture that supports our economy.
-Anna C.

The adventure was calm and relaxing until the journey back. I ran down the hill and nearly fell a couple times with a pizza box in my hands. Today I learned that these nature walks are a little too calm for me especially during these exciting years of my life, I want to live while I can and reflect on my down time. I saw some nice scenery at Hoffman Hills but didn’t learn too much except for the tower has 97 steps. I want to feel like this adventure gave me a new perspective or an additional view on my goals, however I feel like I had a break of a couple hours from my school work.
-Eric B.

About stouthonors

https://www.uwstout.edu/programs/hc/
This entry was posted in 2011 City-as-Text. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

